Mango and Tomato Chutney: Just the tangy you needed


I have come to realize that weekends are more hectic that the usual 5 day week. I mean one has to look after all the piled up chores, exercise, meet up wit friends, go out for a movie, maybe a dinner, shopping, head out to a spa and relax/unwind and rejuvenate. I sympathize with the weekend coz poor Saturday and Sunday, so much is expected out of them.

While I planned for my weekend this time, I realized I was double booked.. It took me some time to sort out everything but with that done, I still see me wishing for a 3 day weekend.. Actually, Don’t we all wish for that? 🙂

Tangy is my weakness and I love the variety of dips and chutney’s I get at Dakshin:e coconut, mint, tomato, Imli.. Dipping the savouries in each of them, one at a time and letting your taste buds witness the goodness of spices, flavours and textures, you know you’ve reached heaven.

Here is my take on one such dip…

Tangy Mango and Tomato Chutney

  • 3 tomatoes, blached and peeled
  • 1/2 medium sized raw mango, peeled and diced
  • 1/2 small onion
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 green chilli
  • 1/4 tsp red chilli powder

For tempering:

  • 1 tsp oil
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1 sprig Curry leaves

Method

Grind all ingredients in a mixer. Shift the paste/ puree to a heavy based pan and cook on low heat. Let the suger and magoes caramalize and thicken to reach to a dip consistency. Check for sugar and add as per your taste if the sauce is too tangy for you.

Prepare the tempering by heating oil. Add the mustard seeds and curry leaves and let it splutter. Pour it over the chutney and mix well.

Serve with hot pakoras!

4 comments

  1. I love chutney. I think it is very fresh and keep you wanting more and more. This is a very interesting recipe. I haven’t try mango and tomato combination before, although I think pineapple and tomato is good. But I think it worth a try. Somehow I think I really love to try this recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Thanks Tes. The tangy ad sweet flavour of the chutney is what I love most. I’m tempted to try the tomatoes and pineapple combination now 🙂

  3. […] mango pickles, Aam panna, the ever popular Mango shake, Mango lassi, Mango kulfi, Mango sorbet, my very own tomato and mango chutney, an assorted fruit salad with mangoes and finally my newly added recipe of coconut and mango […]

Leave a Reply

