Mango Frozen yogurt: Shrikhand


Mango Shrikhand (Frozen yogurt)

Mango Shrikhand / Frozen Yogurt

While growing up, my family would take me and my brother to my maternal grand parents home in Punjab for 2-3 weeks during summer vacation. The house used to be filled with kids and adults, with my aunt also coming over the same time.

My mama’s (mom’s borther) 3 kids: his eldest daughter, and two sons; my mausi’s (mom’s sister) 2 sons; my brother and I.Phew.. that’s quite a handful compared to a nuclear family having two or sometimes one  kid.

Times when we all would get up early morning and go to a near by stream and collect shells…

My nana (grandfather) loved nature and had a farm of his own. With grapes, myriad fruits and vegetables growing all around, an early morning stop over at the farm was fun.. Kids running around and climbing trees, adults strolling in the cozy morning sun: time used to fly like anything.

After spending 2-3 hours there, we would come back to a wholesome breakfast waiting for us: parathas, bread, sandwiches, poha, porridge. We kids would gobble up the food like it never existed and would run back to playing.

Yes I felt home sick and was always ready to go home the second day, but those childhood memories would stay close to my heart always.

House arrest courtesy the heat outside and all I hear is people talking about the weather.. when will it be pleasant?! Atleast mangoes are in season and so we can play around with the fresh produce till it lasts..

Continuing with the mango marathon, I decided to churn up something sweet this time and what faster than Shrikhand / frozen yogurt.

Shrikhand is a smash hits among Maharastrians and Gujratis but not very popular in north India and I wonder why?! With the mango and curd complimenting each other so well.. I wish I had more of it as a kid.

Well, it’s never too late so here I go to feed my craving with the simplest recipe ever!!

Mango Shrikhand / frozen yogurt

Ingredients

  • 300 ml Curd
  • 1 Mango
  • 3 tbsp Sugar
  • 1 Cardamom, crushed

Method

Tie the curd in a cloth and hang it overnight so that all water drains out. Peel the mango and make a puree out of the pulp. Mix the hung curd, puree, sugar, cardamom powder and whisk well using a hand blender.

Freeze it for 4-5 hours till almost set. Take it out and churn in the mixer and keep it back in the freezer. Repeat this one more time so that the yogurt is set thick without any ice crystals.

Serve chilled with some fresh mango cubes and /or even some chocolate syrup!

3 comments

  1. saruchi · · Reply

    Loved it….

    1. Hi Saruchi,
      Glad you enjoyed the recipe.. lemme know how it goes for you. Do make to churn it as tat extra effort will be soo worth it 🙂

  2. Shubho · · Reply

    The Picture of the Srikhand is really really inviting…I have a weakness for anything sweet…This is really tempting.

Leave a comment