Creamy mushroom soup with homemade garlic wheat bread


IMG_6561

Mushroom soup with toasted home-made garlic wheat bread

Off late I have been working on recreating some of my favourite food right at home. My love for food just does not end at eating at a good restaurant but only when I master my favourite dish do I sit in peace.

This time my target was making a nice loaf of bread and some creamy mushroom soup along with it.  I had my share of patience being tested with the yeast proofing while making bread but all of that is in the past! I’ll be writing my next blog on how to bake that perfect bread so for now lets talk about mushrooms.

Mushrooms somehow seem to be as one of the least credited fungi (arrgh! calling it fungi just takes 5 more points from it doesn’t it?). I salute  those who love their flavour. I  got hooked onto it because of the amazing way my mom cooks it . After my mom and me , I can surely say that my good friend Pooj Bajaj also comes in the bracket of mushroom lovers.

I still remember my first day in Miami when Pooja had cooked this mushroom mutter  gravy… YUMMY it was. Those days the two staple food items in our diet used to be mushrooms and aaloo beans. Me making aaloo beans and Pooja making the mushroom mutter.

However, mushroom soup is something I have starting relishing very recently. Honestly, the color of the soup used to put me off 😦 But don’t be fooled by it because if you haven’t tasted it till now, you’ve really been missing out on something. The creamy texture just makes me want to have some more and thankfully now that I know how to cook it, I don’t have to taste its horrible, packed- buy from the super market, loaded with preservatives version.

Here’s what you need for the mushroon soup

Ingredients

  • 200 g Mushrooms, cleaned and chopped
  • 1 medium Onion, chopped
  • 1 medium Potato, chopped
  • 5-6 cloves of Garlic, chopped
  • 750 ml Vegetable stock
  • Butter, olive oil
  • Salt, pepper to taste

Method

Heat 1 tbsp butter with some olive oil in a heavy bottom pot. Olive oil is added to the butter to avoid it from burning.

Add the chopped garlic, onions, potatoes,  salt (roughly 1tsp) and crushed black pepper. Sauté on low heat and cover for 10 mins.

Now add the chopped mushrooms and mix well to coat the mushrooms with the butter. Keep them covered and cook on low heat till the mushrooms are cooked through. They should let out some water.

Now add the vegetable stock and check for seasoning.  Add salt if needed and let it cook for another 20 mins. Churn well using a hand blender.

Pour in individual bowls and add a dollop of cream. Top with chives and some toasted home-made garlic bread and drizzle some olive oil.

6 comments

  1. The mushroom soup looks so rich and delicious! Can’t wait to try this recipe! Thanks for sharing.

    1. Rashi Soup is looking so delicious and even Garlic Bread is looking perfect … Would love to try some day 🙂

      1. Thanks Pooja. will get some for u the next time:)

    2. Thanks Tes. Do let me know how it turns out for you

  2. Heyy Rashi…. really love to follow ur blog. I tried myself but couldnt carry on after one recipe. Keep up the good work and gonna try garlic bread soon 🙂

    Cheers,
    Manashi

    1. Thanks Manashi. Do lemme know how it comes along..

      With winters coming, maybe you can try the soups along with toasted bread.

Leave a Reply

