Whole wheat raisin cookies: Chewy and healthy


Whole wheat Raisin cookies

This weekend I revisited my old cookbooks and though of doing a new recipe. We all get into a comfort mode sometimes and end up sticking to recipes that are oh so easy to make. In order to break out of my shell, I pushed myself to try a new recipe. Baking being my first love followed by an enormous sweet tooth, I knew I had to make cookies and this time they had to be a healthy option… well, healthier than usual. I substituted whole wheat flour in place of all purpose flour and kept my fingers crossed throughout the baking process. The result was amazingly soft and chewy cookies. Here is the simplest, do it yourself recipe of whole wheat raisin cookies.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cup Whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp Baking powder
  • 1/2 cup Butter
  • 1/2 cup Light muscovado sugar
  • 1/4 cup Powdered sugar
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla essence
  • 1 Egg, ice cold
  • 1/2 cup Raisins, washed and dried

Method

Whisk the butter and sugar till light and fluffy.  Add the vanilla essence and crack the ice cold egg into the vreamed butter-sugar mixture and mix lightly.

Sieve in the flour and baking powder into the mixed batter and lightly fold just just combined. Do Not over mix at this point and add the raisins and mix.

While you place tablespoons of the mixture on a baking tray preheat the oven at 190 Celsius. The baking tray need not be greased as the cookies come up easily.

Bake for anything between 15-20 minutes based on the size of your cookie till the cookies are golden brown.

Being rather greedy, I made jumbo cookies and the batch gave me 10-12  huge ones which needed to be baked for 20 minutes. You can choose to go smaller with the size as well.

Any size the cookies should turn out just fine.

Using a spatula, transfer the cookies to a wire rack and let them cool before storing in an air tight jar.

Leave a Reply

