Rawa Idlis: Perfect breakfast food


After making an array of dishes to meet my sweet tooth, I decided to move to something healthy but figuring out what to make was the hard part.  Though so many options had been popping up in my mind, nothing was convincing enough for me to go to the kitchen and make.

I know I’d decided on making a pie but personally speaking pies are something best enjoyed with high tea… A hot steaming cuppa tea/coffee, some scones or jam tarts and finally a flaky crusted savoury pie..

For breakfast, it had to be something quick, something healthy and something yummy. To suit all my needs, I somehow woke up with the perfect idea: Rawa Idlis. Come to think of it, my mind never slept last night so I might just hit the bed and snore it out to rejuvenate my mind just as my soul did after having those yummy, light idlis.

 

Rawa Idli with sautéed vegetables

Rawa Idlis, makes approx 30 idlis

Ingredients

  • 2 cups Semolina/Suji/ Rawa
  • 1 cup plain Curd/Yogurt
  • 1 cup Water, at room temperature
  • 1/2 tsp sodium bi carbonate
  • 1 tbsp Buttermilk, approx
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 400 ml water for steaming the idlis

Method

Mix the semolina, yogurt, 1 cup water, salt and baking soda and keep aside.

After 1.5-2 hours check for the consistency of the batter. It should coat the back of a spoon. Add butter milk if needed to correct the consistency.

Pour 400 ml water in a pressure cooker and set the flame on high.

Grease the idli molds and keep aside. Once the water in the pressure cooker starts to boil, pour 1 serving spoon each per idli mold and place the molds in the cooker.

Cover the cooker with its lid but do not place the weight (as we do not want the idlis to be pressure cooked) and steam them for 10 minutes. Once done, take them out and let them cool for 2-3 minutes.

Using a butter knife take them out and serve hot with chutney, Rasam or Sambhar.

Leave a Reply

