Ginger cookies


Ginger Cookies

With the onset of Diwali celebrations, I went outside to the local mall to check out the decorations and the festivities happening. A mini mela was setup inside the mall with people swooning to them like moths to fire. Ranging from chocolate box gift sets, artifical jewellery to myriad diya, I saw everything one can think of buying this diwali.

With all the razzle dazzle around, I stopped at something quite not expected during festive season: a book store. A direct descend to the cookery section, I was like a little girl looking up at santa claus and making her wish!

Cookie and biscuit bible by Catherine Atkinson

Searching through numerous books on various cuisines and styles of cooking I found the book perfect one for me: the cookie and biscuit bible.

As I flipped through it to understand the intended audience, I knew it was JUST right. What can I say.. a perfect gift to myself for diwali.

Now came the difficult part: selecting the first recipe to try from this book! Flipping through the book one page at a time, I wanted to make everything right away..

People like collecting true to life models of sports cars, I like collecting cook books.. yeah, that’s me!  Anyway, I did not want this book to go back on my shelf like the rest of my books and luckily my eyes fell upon this recipe of Old-fashioned ginger cookie.. Drool drool drooooolll!

Ginger coookies

Ingredients

  • 300 g plain flour
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground ginger (see glossary)
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 5-6 cardamom, finely ground (see glossary)
  • 115 g butter, at room temperature
  • 350 g castor sugar
  • 1 egg, at room temperature
  • 4 tbsp treacle / honey
  • 1 tsp lemon juice

Method

Crunchy ginger cookies

Preheat the oven at 170 degree Celsius and grease baking sheet.

Sift the flour, sosa bicarbonate and the ground spices and keep aside.

Place the butter and 2/3 of the sugar in a bowl and cream together with an electric mixture till the light and fluffy. Lightly beat the egg, pouring it little at a time into the creamed butter stir it in.

Stir in the treacle/honey and lemon juice. Add the flour mixture and using a spatula, mix well to form a soft dough.

Taking approx 2 tsp of the dough per cookie and shape into flat balls – 3/4 ” in size. Roll the balls into the remaining castor sugar and place them on the prepared baking sheet, slightly spaced to allow the dough to rise.

My family loves crunchy cookies, hence baked for about 15-20 minutes. In case you want the cookies to have that soft interior, which I prefer, bake for around 10 mins or till the cookies are just firm to touch.

Transfer to a wire rack using a spatula and let them cool.

These classic ginger cookies go perfectly with an afternoon tea and kids love to munch on them with a glass of cold milk.

Leave a Reply

