Savoury bites: cheese crackers


Savoury cheese bites

After an array of sweet nibbles, my mom asked me to make savoury cookies. Thanks to my recent purchase of the cookie and biscuit bible, I did not have to look outside. With numerous options with flavours ranging from curry powder, chilli paste, garam masala …. I chose something I simply love: cheese!

The fun part about these cheese crackers is that you can very well use them as food money in your next round of cards.. That way you’ll have cheerful guests leaving your party with a bag full of cheesey delights.

With an easy to do recipe, you’ll be ready with a batch of 60 crackers in no time. You can shape them in any manner you want and let your creativity flow. For Cheese Crackers, here’s what you’ll need.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all purpose flour, plus some extra for dusting
  • 1 tsp mustard powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 115 g butter
  • 75 g greated cheddar cheese
  • pinch of cayenne pepper
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 1 egg beaten
  • poppy seeds, sunflower seeds or sesame seeds to decorate

Method

Preheat the oven at 200 degree celcius. Sift the flour, mustard and salt in a bowl and rub in butter till it resembles fine bread crumbs

Stir in the granted cheese, cayenne pepper and sprinkle the water. Add half of the beaten egg and mix to form a firm dough. Knead lightly until smooth.

Roll out the dough between two sheets of cling film and using a cookie cutter cut into desirable shapes. Re-roll the trimmings and cut out more shapes.

Place on a prepared baking sheet and brush the remaining egg. Sprinkle with sesame seeds and cook for 20 minutes or until the cookies tun golden.

Transfer to a wire rack and cool completely. Perfect to gift packs, you’ll have friends and family asking for more!

gift packed cheese crackers with assorted dry fruits

6 comments

  1. Love your recipes, am trying your tomato & mango chutney today, wish me luck!!

    1. Thanks 🙂 I’m glad you like the recipes on my blog.The tomato and raw mango chutney is one of those experiments with flavour that turned out really good.
      If you are aware of Indian cuisine, its something like the tangy, sweet and sour Saunth that is used to dress Dahi vadas. I’ll be writing a post on it soon.

      Wishing you all the best with the chutney recipe and do lemme know how it turns out. Happy cooking

  2. Yummy, interesting to see cayenne and mustard in this cookie, definitely it will have some kick.

  3. I had my doubts too but the crackers came out delicious. Hope u enjoy this recipe as much as I did.

  4. Hi Rashi,

    These crackers look so delicious!! Very interestig recipe… I would have never thought of this combination. Will have to try it out!!

  5. I buy similar cookies every weekend.
    Now I can make them on my own :)))))

    Did you ever try using other types of cheese?

    I think that the ones I buy are made with kashkaval.

    Thank you,
    Itai matos (TFIM).

Leave a Reply

