chocolate brownie – muffin avataar


chocolate brownie

Yes, I know I had to bake a loaf of bread today but sadly the yeast I had with me did not proof well so I had to work with plan B… the only problem of going with plan B is when you do not have one!

Thank god for a chilly morning, I knew a warm muffin would be hugely appreciated: so I picked up my cookie and biscuit bible and turned to a making a chocolate chip brownie but muffin style. Another variation that I tried today was substituting whole wheat flour instead of plan flour and boy was it a good decision!

My brownie muffins were crunchy, sticky, instant melt in your mouth goodness from heaven. The witness to this was mum and dad who could not resist the smell of a freshly baked batch cooling on the rack.

After serving the brownies and but of-course having a bite of it, I realised how awesome it tasted steaming hot! Well, maybe it was because I prefer warmed up cookies, cakes, brownies and muffins .

Here’s my take on a healthy chocolate brownie-muffin avataar

 

Brownie mania

 

Ingredients

  • 150 g semisweet chocolate
  • 1/2 cup sunflower oil
  • 1 cup light muscovado sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 5-6 cardamom, finely powdered
  • 2/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 4 tbsp unsweetened cocoa
  • chopped pistachios, walnuts, raisins and chocolate chips

Method

Preheat the oven 180 degree Celsius and melt the chocolate in a heatproof bowl over a bowl of simmer water.

Beat the oil, sugar, eggs, vanilla and cardamom powder till light and fluffy. Pour in the melted chocolate and mix well until combined.

Using a sieve, sift in the flour, baking powder and cocoa and fold in thoroughly. Add the dry fruits and mix well.

Grease the muffin tray or line with paper cups and tip in 1 tbsp per muffin and bake for 50 mins.

fresh batch of chocolate muffins

The muffins will have a crunchy exterior and a soft and sticky, gooey interior.

Chocolate brownies in a box

Leave a Reply

