This week’s Challenge: making sourdough starter


I love baking and after an array of cakes, cookies and muffins, my obvious step was to bake a loaf of bread.

Now bread making is no child’s play since you are at the mercy of the tiny little yeast that make your bread oh so soft and juicy. Β  So after being tormented by yeast not proofing correctly, I thought of trying another method which brought me to creating a sourdough bread.

My challenge here is to make a sourdough Β starter, perk up my dough with it and then pray to God like there’s no tomorrow for my bread to rise.

With the first two steps done, I am now waiting patiently for nature to act on it. This is a huge project for me because of all the learning experience I am getting, after all its an entirely new technique for me (and I am not sure whether I’ve nailed it).

Wish me luck people and any of you who have experience on working with sourdough starters and making bread from them, please please please: GUIDE ME.. for there is one thing I have realised; knowledge is best preserved when shared.

Hoping to get some tips from all you avid bakers and bread lovers πŸ™‚

5 comments

  1. oh i had the worst experience ever… i am yet to understand what went wrong. i mean nothing happened. and off they went to my kitchen bin 😦
    good luck with yours πŸ™‚

    1. baking bread is still a mystery to me. twice it came out so perfect and now its a no show. I might give u baking breads.. cakes, cookies, tarts and quiches is what i need to stick with 😦

  2. hey tried the ginger cookies yesterday after work 😦 something went terribly wrong 😦 had to trash the whole lot and the dough too.. guess i am those who just can’t desserts right πŸ™‚ and i envy you

    1. OMG, how come? hope u did not over mix the dough. I know how disappointing it would have been. Let me know where I can help you in your next try πŸ™‚

  3. yupe sure thing, πŸ™‚ and there’s one thing i have learnt, desserts aren’t my thing πŸ™‚ so please, put up some nice savoury stuff so guess am moving to the pastas πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

