Chocolate Orange cake: Happy valentines day!!


Valentines with Chocolate and orange

Can you think of a better way than to indulge in some sinful flavours of orange infused chocolate this valentine’s day? If you really have a suggestion to top this one, then I am all ears my friend!

Orange and chocolate has been my weakness since I was a kid. Well, I was never a chocolate fan but the only time I ate chocolates was when they were infused with orange. Now that I come and think of it, orange has been my weakness more than anything: Orange Ice lolly, orange fruit, juice, candies … the list is endless.

For a good 12 years of my early life, I survived not relishing anything except for oranges so you may be able to sense the excitement in my tone as I talk about chocolates and oranges.. The union of these two flavours is beyond perfection, soothing out any lines of stress that may come its way.

B eing an obsessive cook, browsing the net for good recipes that are a keeper in my books is my favourite passtime. Many of my recipes are either an improvisation or adaptation from the various cook books I own but this one is taken from CrustaBakes.

The best part about this cake is that it takes a full orange in it and does not use any artificial flavours. Honestly, I was  a little concerend about how the taste of the whole orange would taste , if it would taste bitter but I’m glad I went beyond all doubt and tried this recipe for myself.

The cake has 3 elements to it in all:

Though all the three components are easy to make, they are a little time consuming but it being valentines day, all the extra effort is worth it right?! Here’s what you’ll need

Chocolate Orange Cake

 
 
 
 

 

Spongy and moist

 

Chocolate and Orange sponge

  • 1 orange
  • 100g dark chocolate
  • 3 eggs
  • 280 g caster sugar
  • 240ml sunflower oil
  • 25g cocoa powder
  • 250g plain flour
  • 1½ tsp baking powder

Ganache

  • 200 g cream
  • 100 g plain chocolate
  • 100 g dark chocolate

Candied Orange Peel

Method:

Indulgence known as Chocolate Orange cake

Pierce the orange with a skewer leavng the peel on. Cook in boiling water for 30 minutes until soft. Drain the water and puree the whole orange in a food processor until smoothand let it cool.

Melt the chocolate in a heatproof bowl set over a double boiler or in the microwave for 2 minutes, stirring after 1 minute and let it cool.

In a large bowl lightly beat the eggs, sugar and oil. Using a sieve strain the puree into the batter discarding any pips followed by cooled melted chocolate. Lightly beat the mixture.

Sift in the cocoa, flour and baking powder. Mix well and pour into a gresed tin. Bake at 180 degres celcius for 60 minutes or until the cake passes the needle test. Allow to cool in the tin for 10 mins and then turn out on to a wire rack to cool completely.

For the ganache, boil the cream over high flame and add the broken pieces of chocolate. Remove from the heat and mix the chocolate till it melts and combines completely.  Leave it to cool down for 1-1/5 hours.

Pour on the cake and apply well. Decorate with the candied peel and chill for 1 hour before serving.

Happy valentine’s Day

2 comments

  1. crustabakes · · Reply

    Hi, thanks so much for the shout out! i am glad the cake worked for u 🙂

  2. […] the truffle cake you need the base of a chocolatey chocolate cake, good icing: chocolate ganache (see recipe here) and various decorations as per your […]

Leave a Reply

