Cappuccino swirls: chocolate cravings 101


Cookies with a hot cup of tea and coffee can be such a refreshing experience. Ever since I’ve started baking cookies at home, I just can’t seem to buy them over the counter.

Munching on a freshly baked batch of cookies is a joy like no other! I had an amazing experience while baking these cappuccino swirls… As I was mixing up the ingredients and putting them into my piping bag, I realised that my kitchen was filled with this wonderful aroma of coffee and cocoa. Breathing in the divine air  had me hooked into it from then and there. Simply put, I was draw to them even before the first batch was put in the oven: always a good sign!

I’m not a big fan of coffee but I can gorge on these with a few cups of nice freshly brewed tea. Here’s how you can make them for yourself

Cappuccino Swirls

Ingredients

  • 2 tsp Instant Coffee
  • 2 tsp Boiling water
  • 225 g unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 100 g sugar (the recipe called for 50 g but I added more for my version)
  • 1 1/4 cup All-Purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup Cornstarch
  • 1 tbsp Cocoa powder

Method

Put the coffee powder and boiling water in a cup and stir till dissolved. Set aside to cool.

Sift the flour, corn starch and cocoa powder.

Beat the butter and sugar together until light and creamy. Add the coffee and sifted flour and mix well.

Spoon into the piping bag and pipe onto prepared baking trays, spaced slightly apart.

Bake for 20 mins at 190 degree celcius until firm but now browned.

Remove from the oven and cool on the tray for a minute, followed by transferring into the wire rack.

Melt white and dark chocolate seperately in a heat proof bowl and using a spoon drizzle the liquidy chocolate onto the cookies.

Whats cooking chocolate

2 comments

  1. The cookies look better than any magazine picture.

    1. 🙂 thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

