Orange curd: Recipe


wall carvings: agra fort

The recipe of home made orange curd is like no other. You will love seeing people smack  on the creamy smoothness as you serve this on toasted bread, buns, layer in cakes or dollop a hearty helping on the lady finger sponges.

With my cookery books shelf filling fast, one of my recent purchases that sits proud on my shelf is 400 amazing sauces. With recipes ranging from relishes, dips, sauces, marinades to jams, jelly, conserves… I am in sauce heaven.

I can see my prayers answered well in time as I’d been thinking of getting a book similar to this one.

My first try from this book had to be none other than orange curd. Now, it does take in a good amount of butter and eggs (plus y0lks) but then how else will you get that creamy texture.

I was told that my two year old niece loved these on the lday finger sponges. So, with some success achieved on another front (sauces/ dips), I can dare to step into a new field.

I used the curd as a filling for the orange pound cake that I had made ( recipe to follow) and it did the cake justice! Here’s the recipe.

Orange Curd

Ingredients

  • 2 Seville Oranges
  • 115g unsalted butter
  • 200g caster sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 large egg yolks

Method

Wash the oranges ans finely grate the rind and place in a large heatproof bowl. Halve the oranges and squeeze the juice into the bowl and grate the rind in it.

Place the bowl over gentle simmering water and add the butter and sugar. Stir until the sugar has completely dissolved and the butter has melted.

Put the eggs and yolks in a bowl and lightly whisk and pour into the orange mixture using a sieve. Whisk together till combined.

Stir the eggy orange mixture constantly over the hot simmering water until the mixture thickens and lightly coats the back of a wooden spoon.

Pour the oraneg curd into sterilized jars and cover – store in a cool, dark place.

(I has halved this recipe and it worked perfectly well for me. I’ll try and upload some pictures soon of how the curd came out )

One comment

  1. Life is uncertain. Eat dessert first. ~Ernestine Ulmer

Leave a Reply

