Raspberry Marble Cake: a fruity affair


I’ve been low on blogging for a couple of weeks and I have substantial reasons for the lag. With a super busy hectic work schedule demanding me to be in office even on a Sunday, all my free time was going in taking time off and catching up on my sleep.

Thankfully, with most of the work wrapped up, I can sit peacefully and write what’s on my mind.

With spring around the corner (or there already), I’ve got ample opportunity to go out and capture flowers in full bloom that personify the word pretty for us. I am hoping to see some good flowers and amazing sunlight (tomorrow).. and have my fingers crossed.

Moving on to food, my orange obsession has not stopped with the orange chocolate cake recipe I posted some time back. I made an orange cake and orange curd which was a major hit (and will be covered in my next post).

Mixing fruit coulis/ puree with the cake batter has sort of become an obsession of mine. With three tried and tested amazing recipes of cakes with fresh fruits (raspberry, chocolate-oraneg and orange pound), I’m wondering what to try next.

While my mind thinks of the endless possibilities of combining fruits with cake /frosting, let me share my recipe for raspberry marble cake. This one was loved by my colleagues and family a lot and for some time now everyone has been telling me to start selling these cakes and cookies I make.

Raspberry Marble Cake

Ingredients

This recipe will yield two 9 inch layers

  • 3 cups flour (I used 1/2 all purpose 1/2 cake)
    2 1/2 tsp baking powder
    1 cup (8 oz) butter, room temperature
    2 cups sugar
    4 eggs
    2 tbsp (or more) vanilla
    1 cup milk
    1/2 cup raspberry coulis

Method

Preheat your oven to 165C (325F) and line a 9 inch cake pans with parchment paper.

In a small bowl, sift together the flour and baking powder and set aside.

Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
Seperate the egg whites and add the yolks to the butter mixture followed vanilla. Cream together till light.

Using a spatula fold in the flour mixture, alternating with the milk.

Whisk the egg whites till light and soft peaks form and then gently fold into the  cake batter.

Divide the batter into halfs and fold the raspberry puree into the second half.
You want a good pink cake, so make sure that the puree gets integrated fully, however mix using a spatula and do not take the mixer out for this one.

Pour the two batters in two layers in the prepared tin and bake for approximately 30 – 50 minutes, or until a cake tester comes clean.

Raspberry Marble Cake

Leave a Reply

