Spiced pumpkin and sour cream cake


I’ve been planning on working with pumpkin for a long time now! Ever since I had my first bite of pumpkin pie, I’ve been wanting to bake something on my own… something involving pumpkin.

It’s not fall in India any more. We actually are near to spring but the local produce of sugar pumpkins seemed to disagree, so I bought some pumpkin to add to my challenge. For someone in my spot, who has never worked with pumpkin before, I decided to make my own pumpkin purée as well. Call me crazy, but a challenge has got to have a twist 🙂

Making the purée was pretty easy but my cake hit various road blocks. Yeah, today was quite eventful I must say. The streusel recipe bombed on me so I had to improvise and go with my instincts. Other than that it was a fun learning day for me.

For novice pumpkin bakers, here are the issues I faced (along with my lucky solutions).

My purée might have been a tad bit runny.

– One can make pumpkin purée by either baking, boiling or steaming – I chose to steam. So, while everything went perfectly fine, once I puréed the pumpkin, it looked a little runny to me. I ended up adjusting my recipe a little and the end result was fine. Pumpkin cake is naturally moist so don’t over-bake yours..

The streusel recipe I found BOMBED on me.

– So this recipe which seemed fine on the whole, asked to use melted butter for making the streusel. I must admit that even when I was reading the recipe, I did think it may blow up on my face because the instructions said that I had to rub in the oats and flour to resemble crumbs. Using melted butter to make crumbs???? What were they thinking!!! Anyway, I had to do away with that angle of the cake and will need to make some granola cookies soon to reuse the batter.

But, the proof is in the pudding so what was the verdict: My cake turned out a beautiful dark orange and the house filled with the exotic fragrance of cloves, cinnamon and nutmeg. My husband liked the deep flavours and the moist texture and went for seconds. With the second share, he asked me to warm the slice and he went from liking to loving the cake. All’s well that ends well!!! Here’s my version of the spiced pumpkin cake, something to bring back the holiday feel in your home 🙂

Spiced pumpkin and sour cream cake

Spiced pumpkin and sour cream cake

Spiced pumpkin and sour cream cake

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar, plus 2 tbsp castor sugar
  • 55 g butter, at room temperature
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 medium eggs
  • 115 g sour cream
  • 215 g pumpkin puree
  • 1 medium egg
  • 3 Tbsp light brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

Method:

Pre-heat the oven to 350 F (180 C) temperature. Line 9-inch baking dish with parchment paper. In a large bowl, mix together both flour, baking powder, baking soda. In another bowl, cream together butter and sugar. Mix in vanilla, and beat in the egg.
Mix half of the dry ingredients into the wet, following half of the sour cream. Repeat the process with the remaining flour and sour cream. 
In a separate bowl whisk together the egg and sugar. Pour in the pumpkin purée and all the spices. Mix well. Mix the pumpkin mix with the batter until just combined.  Bake the cake for about 50-60 minutes, until inserted toothpick into the middle of the cake comes out clean.

IMG_6689

Leave a Reply

